I like making little things for people and this time I had to make a recovery gift for a friend who was in the hospital. I didn’t have much time to plan it and we were out of energy bars so I decided to make an edible gift. Homemade energy bars are healthy, delicious and people always appreciate them.
First I made the bars. Luckily, I had everything I needed in the pantry. I used hazelnuts, oats, a variety of seeds and dried fruit, peanut butter and dark chocolate drops (recipe will be posted soon so stay tuned). Then I wrapped them in parchment paper, tied a little bow and they were ready.

When I was finished with the bars, it was quite late and I had nothing to put them in to make a nice presentation. Plus I had a dentists’ appointment in the morning and thus no time to find something in the market. I was too tired to make something cute (like saw a pouch) so I switched off the lights and went to bed. It would have to do as they were.

Then it dawned to me that I have like a million jars (my partner always complains that they take up too much cabinet space), why not use one? They are cute, recyclable, reusable and generally very handy. So I picked one in a size that fitted the bars, put a blackboard sticker on the lid, wrote on it with a piece of chalk and voilà! Bella the cat had to check it out of course, as always. Gave it a sniff and went to sleep as it didn’t interest her any further. Cats, you know…
The next day I gave my friend her recovery gift. She loved it ❤

As for the jars, I have another DIY idea which I will make and post soon 😉